About Us

Our Story

In the 1990s, founders Joe Blackstone and Jamie Mohn volunteered to be readers for the USC JEP organization. They would read to 1st and 2nd graders in the USC School of Five inner-city elementary schools every week. Very quickly they became aware of the alarming number of students that were reading below grade level. More alarming, was the fact that if a child didn't have a strong reading foundation at an early stage in their education then that student would most likely get lost in “the system” and have an arduous road ahead of them.

Through this volunteer work, Joe and Jamie had the opportunity to witness the impact that took place when these children were given the attention and opportunity to help strengthen their reading skills and bolster their reading confidence. It was then that the seed of becoming part of that impact and change had been planted. In 2011, J3 Foundation was created with initial work being to fund foundations and charities focused on child development. In 2018, J3’s Cozy Reading Club was developed. They created an after school reading program that focuses on elevating the reading skills, reading confidence, reading habits, and increasing book access for 4th-grade students in high needs areas. Joe and Jamie have set out on a mission to give these students a fighting chance and keep them OUT of the system. They set a goal in 2018 to reach and serve 1,000 students within a 10 year period of time through the J3 Foundation. With the recent racial tensions and inequities in 2020, they have elevated that goal to reach those 1,000 students as soon as possible.

Our Approach

Image by You X Ventures

Research and Evaluation

J3’s approach is grounded in rigorous, evidence-based research and informed by a cycle of continuous evaluation using school data, informal & formal assessments, and parent/teacher/student surveys. ​Our development team includes nationally-recognized expert educational practitioners and researchers, in addition to experts in the fields of psychology and social work.  

The J3 Team
Board of Directors

 

Joe Blackstone, Co-Founder

Chair

​joe@J3FoundationLA.org

Jamie Mohn, PsyD, Co-Founder

Vice Chair & Treasurer

​jamie@J3FoundationLA.org

Lindsey Palmer

Secretary

lindsey@J3FoundationLA.org

Stacee Longo

Program Director

stacee@J3FoundationLA.org

Melanie Kimes

Site Coordinator

melanie@J3FoundationLA.org

Grant Mohn

Social Media and Website Consultant

grant@J3FoundationLA.org

Bobbie Boggs-Miller

Director of Operation 

bobbie@J3FoundationLA.org

Hannah Ward

Program Coordinator

hannah@J3FoundationLA.org

Jessica Blackstone

Kid President

Advisory Board

Margarita Artavia, LCSW

Rick Barry, PhD

​Sebastian Cognetta, EdD

Jane Sandor

James G. Ellis

Humberto R. Gray, JD

Roger H. Howard, JD

Carron Brown

Beth Anderson

Sherry McKuin

Sonia Lowman

Our advisory board includes educational practitioners & researchers, parents, authors, entrepreneurs, and professionals in several fields.

Mira Brown

Program Coordinator 

mira@J3FoundationLA.org

Jasmine Sandoval 

Marketing Coordinator

jasmine@J3FoundationLA.org

Meet J3

supporters

Pizzicotto logo.jpg
MHz_BLK.JPG
Glaser Weil Logo.jpg
TASCHEN_blue1.jpg
Glossy Button Logo.jpg
J3LogoStacked.png
Graylaw Logo.jpg
CTBC Logo_P328BG.jpg
Hawks Hill-Wine Label-06 Pinot-Front.jpg
unnamed.png
Cresa_Logo_Primary_Logo_wide CS4.jpg
rezvani.png
rca-3-logo-png-transparent.png
James Worthy - logo.jpg

“Reading should not be presented to children as a chore, a duty. It should be offered as a gift.” 

- Kate DiCamillo

11693 San Vicente Blvd., #404

Los Angeles, CA  90049

(310) 472-0405

info@J3FoundationLA.org

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

J3 Foundation will never share or sell your information.

 

J3 Foundation (Los Angeles) is a non-profit organization that maintains tax-exempt status under IRS section 501(c)(3), Tax ID: 45-6192032.

​©2011-2019 J3 Foundation.  All rights reserved.