About Us

letter from the founders

In the 1990s, we volunteered to read to young students through USC’s Joint Educational Project (JEP). We would read to 1st and 2nd graders in the USC School of Five inner-city elementary schools every week. Very quickly, we became aware of the alarming number of students who were reading below grade level. Even more alarming was the fact that if a child didn’t have a strong reading foundation at an early stage in their education, then that student would most likely get lost in “the system” and have an arduous road ahead of them. Through this work, we had the opportunity to witness the impact on children who were given the attention and opportunity they needed to help strengthen their reading skills and bolster their reading confidence. It was then that the seed of becoming part of that impact had been planted.

 

In 2011, we created J3 Foundation with the initial work of funding foundations and charities focused on child development. We chose the name "J3" because both of our first names begin with the letter 'J' and so does our daughter's. She is not only the honorary kid president of the foundation, but we hope to have her continue the work we are doing when the time comes.

 

In 2018, J3 Foundation’s Cozy Reading Club was developed. This after school program focuses on elevating the reading skills, confidence, habits, and increasing culturally relevant book access for 4th grade students in high needs areas. Our mission is to give these students a chance that they might not have had and give them the tools they need to be successful both inside and outside the classroom.

 

We set out with an initial goal of serving 1,000 students within a 10 year period, but between racial inequities being made increasingly evident and the impacts on students due to Covid-19, we have decided to shorten our timeline. Our goal is now to reach those 1,000 (and more) as soon as possible! Since its inception in 2018, we have partnered with 19 schools in the greater Los Angeles area and are serving hundreds of students. We are well on our way to reaching our goal. Thank you for joining us on this journey!

Our Approach

Image by You X Ventures

Research and Evaluation

J3’s approach is grounded in rigorous, evidence-based research and informed by a cycle of continuous evaluation using school data, informal & formal assessments, and parent/teacher/student surveys. ​Our development team includes nationally-recognized expert educational practitioners and researchers, in addition to experts in the fields of psychology and social work.  

Meet J3

The J3 Team
Board of Directors

 

Joe Blackstone, Co-Founder

Chair

​joe@J3FoundationLA.org

Jamie Mohn, PsyD, Co-Founder

Vice Chair & Treasurer

​jamie@J3FoundationLA.org

Lindsey Palmer PhD

Secretary

lindsey@J3FoundationLA.org

Advisory Board

Rick Barry, PhD

Humberto R. Gray, JD

Roger H. Howard, JD

Carron Brown

Sherry McKuin

Shyamala Reddy

Our advisory board includes educational practitioners & researchers, parents, authors, entrepreneurs, and professionals in several fields.

Stacee Longo

Senior Program Director

stacee@J3FoundationLA.org

Mira Brown

Program Manager 

mira@J3FoundationLA.org

unnamed.jpg

Beth Anderson

Special Projects Coordinator 

beth@J3FoundationLA.org

Valerie Jauregui 

Program Director 

valerie@J3FoundationLA.org

1C24EFD1-6C3A-43AD-BA09-A3BB38178B16.jpe
IMG_0336.jpg

Arthur Scott

Program Coordinator

arthur@J3FoundationLA.org

Bobbie Boggs-Miller

Director of Operations 

bobbie@J3FoundationLA.org

198315C8-0CAD-4D3F-9BD3-88E301D4FCBF.jpe
Hannah.jpg

Hannah Ward

Communications Coordinator

hannah@J3FoundationLA.org

IMG_8103.JPG

Courtney Gilmore

Program Administrator

courtney@J3FoundationLA.org

supporters

Pizzicotto logo.jpg
MHz_BLK.JPG
Glaser Weil Logo.jpg
TASCHEN_blue1.jpg
Glossy Button Logo.jpg
J3LogoStacked.png
Mckuin Logo HR.png
Graylaw Logo.jpg
CTBC Logo_P328BG.jpg
Hawks Hill-Wine Label-06 Pinot-Front.jpg
unnamed.png
Cresa_Logo_Primary_Logo_wide CS4.jpg
rezvani.png
rca-3-logo-png-transparent.png
James Worthy - logo.jpg

“Reading should not be presented to children as a chore, a duty. It should be offered as a gift.” 

- Kate DiCamillo